Government of Ethiopia

The government of Ethiopia comprises of the executive, legislative, judicial branches, the administrative divisions and the political parties. The Federal Legislative power and the Executive powers are held by the government of Ethiopia which is headed by the Prime Minister Meles Zenawi, who is the head of the government and the Judiciary. The governments of Ethiopia have fostered better relations with the US and other European countries since 1991.The government has also realized the need of getting foreign aid from developed nations, and has therefore received a substantial amount of financial aid from world bodies such as the World Bank.

The first successful elections in Ethiopia were held in 2005, where there was a good electorate turnout of 90%, thus establishing Ethiopia as a full fledged democratic state.


Executive Branch

The Council of Ministers includes the Prime Minister, Deputy Prime Ministers and other members, who are elected as the part of House of People's Representatives. Currently, other ministries include the Ministry of Agriculture and Rural Development, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Ministry of Water Resources, the Ministry of the Environment and the Ministry of Health.

The president of the nation is Girma Wolde-Giyorgis Lucha who was elected on 8 October 2001 by the House of People's Representatives. The president serves for 6 years and the prime minister is given the power to handle the legislative elections. Currently, the prime minister of the country is Meles Zenawi who was elected through the popular vote in August 1995.

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch includes the two Chambers of Federal Parliamentary Assembly – the Council of People's Representatives and the Council of the Federation.

Political Parties and Coalition

The leading political party of Ethiopia is Ethiopian People's Revolutionary Democratic Front which won 327 seats in May 2005 elections. The party was formed from the coalition of four parties belonging to the Oromia Regions, Amhara Region, Southern Nations, and the Tigray Region. Today, more than 4 million people are member of the patty and it is led by a central committee whose members are selected in every 3 years. The government is closely integrated to this party.

The other three dominating parties in the government are Coalition for Unity and Democracy, Somali People's Democratic Party and United Ethiopian Democratic Forces.

There are also certain pressure groups – Council of Alternative Forces for Peace and Democracy in Ethiopia (CAFPDE) and Southern Ethiopia People's Democratic Coalition (SEPDC).


The Prime Minister recommends the President and the Vice President of the Federal Supreme Court who is appointed by the    House of People's Representatives. The federal judges are selected by the Federal Judicial Administrative Council and the prime minister submits the names of prospective judges at the House of People's Representatives for appointment. Currently, the government uses latest Information Communication Technologies in the government processing and has been acknowledged for computerized functioning.

Administrative Division

There are nine administrative divisions in the country-

Afar; Gambela; Amhara, Benishangul/Gumaz; Harar; Somali; Oromia; Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region; Tigray

And two chartered cities -

Addis Ababa and Dire Dawa

Emperorship in Ethiopia

A constitutional body was formed by the Crown Council of Ethiopia which claimed the reign of emperors of Ethiopia. In 1974, the abolition of monarchy was announced when the emperor Haile Selassie was overthrown. 

In 1993, the Crown Council of Ethiopia claimed its existence but the present Ethiopian constitution has reconfirmed that the monarchy has been abolished although, the royalists continue to rule through the crown council. In 2005, Prince Ermias Sahle Selassie was made the by Crown Prince Zera Yacob Amha Selassie to mark the continuity of emperorship.


Recent Posts