This website contains information about the House of Peoples Representative

Ethiopian Parliament

The Parliament of Ethiopia is based on Ethiopian constitution of 1995, which replaced the preexisting legislative system Shengo .The parliamentary system is based on different power equations, regulations and duties which is specific to the policy adopted by the governing body.

The Parliament of Ethiopia is made up of two chambers

  • Upper chamber – The house of Federation
  • Lower chamber – The house of People’ Representatives

First elections in Ethiopia were held in June 1994 for the 547 member constituent assembly and the assembly based on the constitution of Federal Democratic Republic was formed on December 1994.The first popularly chosen elections for national parliament and regional legislature was held in Ethiopia in May – June 1995 and written about often in magazine and news articles.


In the past three different types of parliamentary systems have existed in the constitution of Ethiopia

  • The Parliament of Emperor Haile Selassie
  • The National Shengo of the Derg Regime
  • The Federal Parliament of Ethiopia

Parliament of Ethiopia

The current political system is based on the framework of Federal parliamentary Republic which is headed by the Prime Minister and the executive power is held by the government. The parliament selects the Prime Minister and the Federal Legislative Power is held by the government and the two chambers of the parliament.

There are total 9 ethnically divided regions governed by the parliamentary system which includes Addis Ababa; Afar; Gambela; Amhara, Benishangul/Gumaz; Dire Dawa; Somali; Harar; Oromia; Southern Nations, Nationalities, and Peoples Region; Tigray.

Opposition parties

There are many opposition parties in the Ethiopian parliament which includes the UEDF, Somali People’s Democratic Party (SPDP), United Ethiopian Democratic Party-Medhin Party, Ethiopian Democratic League (EDL), All Ethiopian Unity Organization (AEUO), Gambela People’s Democratic Movement (GPDM), Oromo Federalist Democratic Movement (OFDM) and the Benishangul- Gumuz People’s Democratic Unity Front (BGPDUF).

Currently, most of the opposition party representatives belong to the Oromia Region.


In the Ethiopian parliamentary system, the Judiciary is governed under the constitution which was formed in 1994.


The parliament has 108 seats in the House of Federation and 547 seats in the House of People Representatives. The House of Federation has members chosen by the state assemblies for the term of five year.

The members of House of People’s Representatives are chosen through direct election for a term of six years and these members in turn elect the president.

The country has two self governing authorities

  1. Capital Addis Ababa
  2. Dire Dawa


The President

The President is elected by the House of People’s Representative for six years and the Prime Minister is selected by the party in power after the legislative elections. The Council of ministers which was formed in 1995 includes the Prime Minister, the Deputy Prime Minister, ministers for various departments and members which are chosen by the House of People’s Representatives.


Legislative branch

The Council of People’s Representatives and the Council of the Federation are the two chambers, and one additional representative for every million population is taken to form the regional councils .These members are either self elected or elected through popular elections.


Recommendations of the Prime Minister and the House of People’s Representatives are taken for the selection of the President and the Vice President of the Federal Supreme Court who heads the judiciary of the country.

Assistance with translation and other design elements of the site where provided free of charge by Internet Learning Center and a few of their staff helpers. encourages individuals to strive for higher education for elementary, high school and into college. For free information on high school programs, please visit
Thanks to Educational and dentist reseda expert website for assistance with content and translation
services provided to keep this site operational.


Contact The Ethiopian Parliament

Tele : +251-111-241000+251-111-241000

Fax : +251-111241004

E-mail :

P.O.Box : 80001



People of Ethiopia

cc credit: plant trees

cc: credits plant trees